Join the Eastwood Civic Association for the 19th Annual Eastwood Historic Home Tour on Saturday, October 18th and Sunday, October 19th from noon to 5:00 p.m.
Tickets will be available for purchase during tour hours at Bohemeo’s.Buy Tickets
Will Call: All tickets purchased online will be available for pick-up during tour hours at Bohemeo’s.
Enjoy a sneak peak of the beautifully renovated homes included on this year’s tour:
This 1937 home has undergone multiple renovation projects through multiple owners. Previous occupants doubled the size of the kitchen and converted a porch into a third bedroom. The current owner has added a new front porch, restoring the craftsman charm original to the front façade. Additional improvements have included custom crown molding throughout, complete remodel of the bathroom in 2010 and significant enhancements to the living room/flooring in 2014. The owner has created a serene pocket garden on the side of the house, featuring bamboo walls and a water feature.
A.E. Olson & Brothers Architects and Builders built this Chicago bungalow in 1927. The original brick house is 1,800 square feet and the current owner added the 900 square foot artist studio. The house was renovated in both 2005 and 2010, but still contains many of the original elements, including its quarter-sawn hardwood floors and large, arched double-doorway. A brick path wraps around the exterior made of salvaged brick found on the property. The 2010 renovation, construction, and interior design work was done by ARCHI-ARTS of Houston.
The owners fell in love with this 1945 home and its trees at first sight. They undertook a conversion from its original state as a triplex to a single family home, retaining the original exterior charm hand hardwood floors. Their addition of a side porch created a garden sanctuary enjoyed by the family year round. In 2008, they revisited the remodel with a completely renovated kitchen and downstairs bath.
This property boasts two beautiful Craftsman Bungalows, built in 1930 and 1938. Both were fully renovated in 2014, and updated to include a metal roof, modern kitchens with Carrera marble, and a steam shower. The homes and grounds serve as a gallery for the owner’s collection of vintage prints, instruments, sculptures, and other artworks.
This exciting project boasts Houston Firehouse No. 2, a 1905 brick structure being converted into a residence for the owners. The surrounding properties are also now home to six 1890’s-era Victorian cottages with gingerbread-trimmed porches, moved from the corner of Garrow and St. Charles streets. The respective property owners are renovating the cottages including one which is being renovated as the firestation guest house. Shared outdoor living space is planned for residents to enjoy. These structures are works in-progress, and as such, this tour stop will include the grounds with a peek into the Firestation and Guest House. Learn more about this project »
Kopriva Body Works is an 85 year young, third generation business in the East End. The business was opened in 1930 by Johnny Kopriva, a prior employee of the Ford Motor Company factory located just down Harrisburg in what is now the Atlantic Coffee Solutions plant. The owners have been the catalyst for starting several industry trade groups, innovators in electronic estimations, and computerized frame-alignment. This tour stop will focus on an oral and photographic history of the neighborhood, including “day in the life” and aerial photos from the 1950s.