Sign Up
Places Events

Mozart and Aucoin

Friday, December 06
7:30PM - 9:30PM

800 Bagby
Houston, Texas 77002

Ravel: String Quartet in F Major
Matthew Aucoin: String Quartet (Houston premiere/Da Camera co-commission)
Mozart: String Quintet No. 2 in C Minor, K. 406/516

Brentano String Quartet (Mark Steinberg, violin; Serena Canin, violin; Misha Amory, viola; Nina Lee, cello); Hsin-Yun Huang, viola; Matthew Aucoin, guest composer

Internationally recognized as one of the outstanding string quartets of their generation, the Brentano Quartet returns to Da Camera for the premiere of a new work by composer Matthew Aucoin, co-commissioned by Da Camera and Carnegie Hall. Just 29 and already a MacArthur “Genius” grant winner, Aucoin is LA Opera’s first ever Artist-in-Residence and one of the youngest composers ever commissioned by the Metropolitan Opera. Violist Hsin-Yun Huang joins the Brentano for Mozart’s powerful masterpiece.

“The diverse elements merge into a personal voice, deployed with prodigious technical skills.” – The New York Times on Matthew Aucoin

“prodigiously talented” – The Wall Street Journal on Matthew Aucoin

“The overall effect wasn’t that the group was playing music, but releasing it.” — Philadelphia Inquirer on the Brentano Quartet

Contact Us